Monthly Recap for March

3/1: *$107,242.53
3/31: *$106,102.05
PL%: -1.06%

Best Trade of the Month: Silver, SI[K5], Long, +$2,850 per contract
Worst Trade of the Month: Palladium, PA[M5], Short, -$1,475 per contract

If you’ve been following my trades and weekly recaps this past month, you’ll know that it’s been choppy and stressful. Each time I approached the high watermark and inched past it slightly, my trading results hit a wall and I retreated and I close out this month on such a retreat. While I hit my target ratio of profitable/unprofitable trades (33%), I still experienced a down month. Since my capital risk per trade is still hovering around 1%, this makes me believe that I’m entering too many trades that have unfavorable risk/reward ratios (under 3:1). I caught myself entering a few trades with technical patterns of 1-month or less and have since cut those out.

My metals and indices trades performed the best while my grains and softs trades performed the worst. My shorts far outperformed my longs. I enter April with 6 open positions, Long in US 2-Year and Live Cattle, and Short in Palladium, Natural Gas, Cocoa, and Sugar.

I’m currently up +10.40% YTD.

*Numbers based off adjusted starting capital amount of $100,000

Leave a comment